

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 2, 2017

Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Biophysical Society Announces 2018 Society Fellows

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is delighted to announce its 2018 Society Fellows. This award honors the Society's distinguished members who have demonstrated excellence in science, contributed to the expansion of the field of biophysics, and supported the Biophysical Society. The Fellows will be honored at the Awards Ceremony during the Biophysical Society's 62nd Annual Meeting on Monday February 19, 2018, at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California. The Fellows are:

Patricia Bassereau, Institut Curie Research Centre, France, for her important experimental contributions to understand the physics of biomembranes using reconstituted systems.

James Bowie, University of California, Los Angeles, for his seminal contributions to our understanding of the folding and stability of membrane proteins.

Astrid Graslund, Stockholm University, Sweden for her pioneering studies of chemical biology ribonucleotide reductase radicals in DNA and bioactive peptides, and as a tireless advocate to promote novel biophysical studies.

Roderick MacKinnon, Rockefeller University, for his transformative impact on understanding ion channel structure and function.

Sheena Radford, University of Leeds, United Kingdom, for her leadership in protein biophysics, revealing fine details about protein folding and misfolding both in vitro, and in diseased states.

H. Lee Sweeney, University of Florida, for his crucial contributions toward the biophysical understanding of myosin and muscular dystrophy and for translating these discoveries toward practical therapies.

Sriram Subramaniam, National Cancer Institute, National Institutes of Health, for his seminal contributions to the cryo-EM field and related disciplines including electron tomography and focused ion beam imaging.

Harel Weinstein, Weill Cornell Medical College, for his significant contributions to the biophysics of G-protein coupled receptors, neurotransmitter transporters and membrane dynamics.

OFFICERS

President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary

Frances Separovic University of Melbourne

Treasurer Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Iane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

Joanna Swain

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic

Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Art Palmer

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2018 Annual Meeting, visit www.biophysics.org.